Mass Technology Leadership Council Announces 2008 Mass Technology Leadership Award Winners

Mass Technology Leadership Council Announces 2008 Mass Technology Leadership Award Winners

October 24, 2008

Awards RecognizeOutstanding Individuals and Corporations in Technology Development, Implementation and Leadership

BOSTON, Oct 24, 2008 (BUSINESS WIRE) -- The Mass Technology Leadership Council, Inc. announced the winners of the 2008 Mass Technology Leadership Awards at its annual Awards Gala yesterday evening at the Boston Sheraton Hotel. These awards recognize the best and brightest technology innovators and leaders. Awards are also bestowed upon companies that either develop or implement innovative technology solutions. The recognition highlights recent and significant contributions to companies or the broader industry.

"The winners of our 2008 Mass Technology Leadership Awards highlight the creativity and success of companies and individuals that define and exemplify our technology community," said Joyce Plotkin, president of the Mass Technology Leadership Council."The awards are an important part of our continued efforts to raise awareness of the incredible innovation and leadership of our local industry."
The 2008 Mass Technology Leadership Award winners include:

Commonwealth Award / Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Emerging Innovative Company of the Year / ZINK Imaging
Company of the Year / Constant Contact
Public Sector Organization of the Year / UMass Online

Commonwealth Award / Paul Maeder
CEO of the Year / Robert Keane, VistaPrint
CIO of the Year / Rebecca Rhoads, Raytheon Company
CTO of the Year / Paul English,
CXO of the Year / Jon Pilkington, Metatomix, Inc.
Innovator of the Year / Paul Graham, Y Combinator
Investor of the Year (co winners) / John Simon, General Catalyst Partners & Jim Matheson, Flagship Ventures

More than 180 high-quality nominations were submitted this year. The Council's Board of Trustees reviewed the nominations and narrowed the field to 57 finalists. Over the summer, the Council held two executive networking sessions to give Council members, Trustees and the Selection Committee the opportunity to get to know the finalists. The selection committee, comprised of leaders and influencers in the Massachusetts technology community, narrowed the slate to the final 12 winners.

The Council's 2008 Awards Program Selection Committee included Dan Allred, Silicon Valley Bank; Gary Beach, CIO Magazine; Cynthia Boutout, British Consulate; Martin Bradley, Invest Northern Ireland; Tim Connolly, UBS; Don Dodge, Microsoft; Council Trustee Mike Kinkead of Urban Wallace Associates; Hal Liebowitz of Wilmer Hale; Eric Lundquist of eWeek; Gary McAuliffe of Hosted Solutions; and Peter Rosenblum of Foley Hoag.

Premier sponsors included Silicon Valley Bank, PricewaterhouseCoopers, Invest Northern Ireland, Jefferies Broadview, and Microsoft. Other event sponsors for 2008 included: Business Wire, Raytheon, and Akamai.
For more information about the Council or the Awards, visit
About The Mass Technology Leadership Council, Inc.

The Mass Technology Leadership Council, Inc. is the only association that addresses the critical leadership issues of innovative software and technology-enabled companies. It is dedicated to fostering entrepreneurship and promoting the success of companies that develop and deploy technology. The Council conducts educational programs; hosts industry events; facilitates networking; sponsors research; advocates in favor of technology policies that promote innovation, entrepreneurship and competition; and recognizes industry-leading companies and people.

Mass Technology Leadership Council PR Contact:
Topaz Partners
Amy Krigman, 781-404-2437